About Those Webby Awards

Written by Paper. Posted in Art, Communication, Drive, Innovation, Off The Wall, Technology

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Published on February 09, 2017 with No Comments

It may not be the Oscars or Emmys, and definitely not the Grammies, but for more than a dozen years the Webby Awards have recognized the best of the Web in various categories. The Webby Awards are given out by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences for Websites, Interactive Advertising, Online Film & Video and Mobile & Apps. Among this year’s winners we noted that Foursquare won for best use of location technology – and no explanation needed there. Angry Birds won for games while Yelp won for being a really good Guide, Ratings and Review App. Justin Bieber and that Old Spice guy also won. And perhaps because drugs are important to us, the People’s Voice winner in the Integrated Mobile Experience category was Walgreen’s Mobile App. Okay, so maybe it’s because we can order photo prints from our phones.
Image is from Best personal website – Whaimade.com

Some notables among the winners include an innovative e-mail campaign from Terinsa Paint. At first it appears to be a blank e-mail but these guys know that we humans just love our click and drag. Check it out in the links. A fun website winner is for the Hugo Boss fragrance for men. It’s called Boss Bottled Night and the site builds on the idea that it is always night somewhere. When you launch the site, you see preparations for nightfall happening in real time and learn such things as how many showers are being taken, how much moisturizer or hairwax is being applied, bottles of champagne being chilled, taxies hailed and more. It’s oddly compelling. The short film for Lego Click didn’t win a Webby but it’s still quite cute so here is a link. Feel free to tell us your favorite Webby nominee or winner via our Facebook page.
Terinsa Paint
Lego Short Film
Webby Site

Share this Article

About Paper

Browse Archived Articles by

No Comments

Comments for About Those Webby Awards are now closed.